Amarone Amore – Luigi Righetti Amarone 2005

On Saturday night, my sister, brother-in-law, nephew, and I found a nice little restaurant, called Verona, on King St. West near Spadina in Toronto.  We didn’t really have a destination in mind and were just wandering looking for a place to eat.  We had discussed the possibility of Italian food.  As we passed the restaurant the hostess asked if we would like to see a menu.  I had never been there before so we stopped to have a look.  We liked what we saw so we got a table.  It was a very pleasant surprise.  My sister and her husband both started with the wild mushroom soup, which was excellent, and I had a very nice grilled calamari dish.  Then I had a very tasty grilled lamb tenderloin.  My sister had the striploin steak, which she seemed to enjoy much more than the steak she had had the previous night at Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse.  My nephew liked his spaghetti and meatballs, and my brother-in-law had the linguine.  Overall, the food was very good and the prices were quite reasonable.  I will definitely be back to Verona.

I also found the prices on the wine list very fair.  I selected the Luigi Righetti 2005 Amarone della Valpolicella.  I had never had this wine before but I was intrigued by the inexpensive price for an Amarone. 

The Luigi Righetti winery was founded in 1909 in Valgatara in Veneto in the heart of the Valpolicella Classico region of Italy.  It remains a family run business with Giam Maria Righetti as the 5th generation of winemakers.  The winery focuses on making high quality wine at affordable prices.  The wines have the potential for aging, but are also very approachable and enjoyable when young.  

The Amarone is a blend of Corvina, Rondinella, and Molinara.  The fermentation lasted 30 days and it was then aged for 15 months in oak.

The Luigi Righetti Amarone della Valpolicella 2005 is a deep ruby colour with intense aromas of black cherries, plums, earth, and spice.  It has a very velvetty structure with ripe tannins and explodes with dark fruit flavours.  The slight leathery, earthy and dark spice flavours add to the complexity of this well-balanced wine.  A very enjoyable wine at a very reasonable price for an Amarone.

Leave a Reply

